New Horizon

I have resigned from Oracle and thus will soon leave the GlassFish group.

I feel very proud looking back at what we’ve achieved as a team with GlassFish in the past few years, including those past two years at Oracle. If you know anything about the history of application servers at Sun, you’ll recognize that building such a community around GlassFish and its amazing number of downloads is nothing short of a small miracle. The Java EE platform has also seen a strong resurgence, bringing it back to the forefront of effective enterprise Java development in many ways.

Having been hired by Sun some 13 years ago to sell NetDynamics I certainly feel that I leave the company’s application server in *much* better shape. Oracle has ambitious plans for GlassFish and has been in my opinion a good steward for this community. I see no reason for this to change and I do expect the community to keep on pushing Oracle to get even better with time.

This ride has been intense and the people I’ve met and worked with, both inside and outside Sun/Oracle, have made the experience the best one of my career.

My journey now continues here: alexismp.wordpress.com. See you there!

Author: alexismp

Google Developer Relations in Paris.

53 thoughts on “New Horizon”

  1. Alexis,

    Can’t believe this. It feels as if I know you since ages (knowing, that this isn’t true ;)). I hate to see you go. Still wishing you the best for your future and I hope we meet again someday. Hope to see you around in Java and EE again shortly. Curious about your next gig!

    Take care!
    It was a pleasure working and sometimes fighting with you!
    -Markus

  2. Alexis,

    It was a pleasure working with you for the brief time that our paths crossed at Oracle. The team you work with next will be very lucky to have you.

    Cheers,

    James

  3. Alexis,

    It’s about time ;-)
    I’m wishing you the best for your new ventures. And I’m sure our paths will cross again soon.
    Take care.
    Ludo

  4. You’ve done an awesome work at Sun then Oracle, and way beyond duty. It’s been a pleasure meeting someone with so much positive energy and humanity.

    I’m sure you’ll have an awesome input at your next job!

    Congratulations and see you soon.

  5. Good luck with your next job and thanks for all the hard work and energy you put into the Glassfish community. Was nice meeting you on occasion.

  6. The work you did with the Glassfish community was inspirational! A big loss for Oracle, but a big win for your next venture – looking forward to hearing more details!

    Brian

  7. It was fun working together on GlassFish at Sun; a great opportunity to craft many new approaches to create community *and* good products.

    Oracle was lucky to keep you as long as it did but change is good for you! As Sacha would say… Onward!

  8. It was a pleasure working with you. Thanks for everything you have done for GlassFish! Please keep in touch.


    Nazrul

    1. Jérôme, you and the Serli team have done a terrific job contributing key new features to GlassFish.
      Keep those OSS contributions going!

  9. (oops repost from the old blog). I wish you all the best, its been my pleasure meeting you all these years through the SUn and oracle Channels as evangelist and GlassFish Community lead rep. I hope you will pay us a visit in Greece in your next ‘mission’. Greetings from Athens Greece.

  10. (oops repost from the old blog). I wish you all the best, its been my pleasure meeting you all these years through the Sun and Oracle ‘channels’ as evangelist and GlassFish Community lead rep. I hope you will pay us a visit in Greece in your next ‘mission’. Greetings from Athens Greece.

Comments are closed.