Migrating back from Athens


I spent a couple of day in Athens and presented for the first time my “Is my J2EE/JavaEE application portable? Should I care?” presentation to the local Java user group, JHUG. It seemed to be well received but I probably need to make some edits for a better flow of information (maybe less technical details, more demoing).

The take away is really that J2EE/JavaEE is a safe bet if you don’t go overboard in using proprietary product features. This is because the investment is done on an open standard, not on a specific implementation or product. The “verifier” (part of every GlassFish install) is a great way to get an idea of where you stand in terms of portability. Sekhar has more in this blog entry.

You can read Paris’ report on the event (OpenSolaris, JPA, RIA, and Maven 2 were the other talks) here: http://www.jhug.gr/?p=349

Author: alexismp

Google Developer Relations in Paris.