Yet Another Successful JavaPolis

JavaPolis is over and it was yet another great event. I’ve had many people tell me they liked it more than JavaOne. It must be either the comfy theater chairs or the size of the conference (easy to talk chat with speakers and conference attendees).

It must be a habit of releasing NetBeans versions for JavaPolis (4.0 in 2004). This time NetBeans 6.0 is really here and what a distance between those releases!

My GlassFish presentation went well, very well even given I had totally crashed my aging laptop two hours before I started. Good thing I had my presentation on a USB stick and that the GF download was reasonable in size. As Jean-François wrote, the audience was good (the competition was pretty stiff) and people stayed throughout the presentation and there were some interesting questions after the talk. The startup time of the current v3 drew some nice “wow” ‘s and applause which I almost did expect (I’m must be spoiled after showing this too many times ;-).

Of course I met a lot of people and I’m not even going to try to name them all. I have to say that I was very pleasantly surprised to see the attendance in talks such as Java EE 6, EJB 3.1, and JPA 2.0. They were really crowed. Spring seemed less present than previous years and there was no BEA in sight (they used to be one of the main sponsors).

Finally, it was great to see Neal and Josh on stage together, but it seems the agreement didn’t last long.

Author: alexismp

Google Developer Relations in Paris.

2 thoughts on “Yet Another Successful JavaPolis”

  1. Speaking of the relative absence of Spring, it’s fairly logical since The Spring Experience conference was at the same time as JavaPolis, but in Florida. So all the usual Spring gurus were on the other side of the Atlantic :-)

Comments are closed.