I’ve been using Nimbus for a while…


…and the final version too.

I was reading Jasper Pott’s blog which has mostly very enthusiastic reactions and people commenting about how some things will just not be usable (mainly scrollbars). Well, I’ve been using Solaris Express which comes with the (GTK Nimbus theme) for a little while now and I must say that I really love the scrollbars (even them being a bit buggy). I’d encourage you to try Solaris Express (or a recent update to Solaris 10) and see for yourself.

So now that you know my preferences, the Java Nimbus look-n-feel doesn’t have to be the exact same copy as the Solaris GTK theme and I’m sure Jasper and friends will listen to all your tastes ;).

Author: alexismp

Google Developer Relations in Paris.

2 thoughts on “I’ve been using Nimbus for a while…”

  1. Honestly, Java needs a nicer look and feel than Nimbus to become a killer platform on the desktop. Nimbus is quite nice on Solaris but on other platforms it’s rather average. Still a big improvement compared to Metal though :)

Comments are closed.