Hot Laptop



This not really Java-related.

My laptop is a Toshiba Tecra M3. It doesn’t suffer from battery problems (AFAIK), but it feels like a hair-dryer with a badly designed or even no hysteresis cycle. Now of course, when I use Windows, there’s a piece of software to lower the performance of the processor which in turn lowers the use of the fan, but that kinda defeats the point of having a 2.13Ghz machine…

Using Solaris x86 (which I do quite a lot as soon as it’s down to programing NetBeans and Java EE stuff), things get even worse. Any suggestions that could make my life better here? Software updates are welcome, but also a way to raise the back of the laptop (any online store selling such accessories?).

If this was an M3 review, I could go on talking about the battery life, the 2 USB ports on the right-hand side, how fragile it is, etc…. ;-)

Author: alexismp

Google Developer Relations in Paris.

2 thoughts on “Hot Laptop”

  1. Hi Alexis,

    Lowering the CPU speed (SpeedStep/PowerNow) isn’t against performance when set to have the CPU full speed resuming as soon as load is high.

    There shouldn’t be a noticeable difference and it saves battery life too. If you haven’t done it yet, install powernow from Casper Dik’s frkit.

    This is why my m3 under Solaris Express currently reports:

    # powernowadm
    State    MHz   Watts   Volts
    0   2130    27.0   1.550
    1   1860    24.0   0.950
    2   1600    21.0   1.150
    3   1330    19.0   1.350
    4   1060    16.0   1.550
    5    800    13.0   0.950 (current)
    Powernow mode: automatic
    

    It doesn’t fully turn off the hair-dryer, but at least you have some periods of quietness with it …
    -jll

  2. Thanks Jean-Louis, I wonder why I didn’t think about asking you before sending this. Let’s have lunch someday so I can learn all the tricks about Solaris Express (I’m still using Solaris 10!).

Comments are closed.