SCA + OMG = Oh My God?


(just my own personnal thoughts, not necessarily Sun’s point of view).
Just read this post titled “SCA & SDO, the next Corba?”. When SCA came out, one of the oustanding question was to what standards body it would be submitted. OASIS, W3C, JCP? Well, OMG it will be. I’m glad we have UML and even CORBA (IIOP, OTS, etc…), but it really seems like OMG has moved on to MDA and vertical markets. I’m not too concerned by SCA as a technology, as it has little overlap with Java EE 5 and JBI. See Ron’s series of posts: [1] & [2] on that subject.

To the question “Will they just accept SCA & SDO specifications as is?”, the answer’s “no” if the process is truly open. That’s the difference between a specification and an open standard. To the timing question, I just hope it’ll be faster than for the CCM.

Oh and Sun joined OSOA a few days ago. Probably a good thing.

Author: alexismp

Google Developer Relations in Paris.

3 thoughts on “SCA + OMG = Oh My God?”

  1. I’m pretty good with acronyms but even I’m bewildered by this post (found through the Planet Netbeans feed — dunno what it has to do with NetBeans but that’s a different point). I count 14 unexplained acronyms:
    SCA
    SDO
    OASIS
    W3C
    OMG
    JCP
    UML
    CORBA
    IIOP
    OTS
    MDA
    JBI
    CCM
    OSOA
    Now I’m ok with some of them but if you want people to read your posts, understand your message and follow the article links provided, you’ve got to learn to write something better than this. Hell, Perl is more readable than this post. Sorry. Just had to comment when I’d read the post as I’ve still no idea what it’s about!

  2. I’m pretty good with acronyms but even I’m bewildered by this post (found through the Planet Netbeans feed — dunno what it has to do with NetBeans but that’s a different point). I count 14 unexplained acronyms:
    SCA
    SDO
    OASIS
    W3C
    OMG
    JCP
    UML
    CORBA
    IIOP
    OTS
    MDA
    JBI
    CCM
    OSOA
    Now I’m ok with some of them but if you want people to read your posts, understand your message and follow the article links provided, you’ve got to learn to write something better than this. Hell, Perl is more readable than this post. Sorry. Just had to comment when I’d read the post as I’ve still no idea what it’s about!

  3. Fair enough. SCA and SDO are specifications for doing Service Oriented Architecture. OSOA is the . JBI is a JCP (Java Community Standard) standard for doing an Enterprise Serice Bus (ESB).

    CORBA, UML, OMG, really, look them up on wikipedia or something. CMM is the CORBA Component Model, MDA is Model Driven Architecture. OTS is Object Transaction System.

    NetBeans does Service Oriented Architecture developement with the Enterprise Pack for NetBeans.

Comments are closed.