Jackpot, Java Basic, Real-world XML schemas, Open Source AS benchmark, …

I had a 4-day week-end and now a bit of email and blog reading to catch up with.

Some nice things I came across:

Comments on Java Basic as shown at JavaOne.

xulfaces (XUL with a JSF back-end) has a new release (0.6) and a live demo

– Nice XML Schema tools making their way into NetBeans.

– How does Jackpot differ from other refactoring or static analysis tools? Answers here

– Bookmark or subscribe to SDN Channel for a JavaOne 2006 round-up of news and resources soon.

– First open source app server benchmark result (a good one too).

– More great Java EE 5 (EJB 3 in this case) editor hints in NetBeans 5.5

– Oh, and if you’re in Paris at the end of June: JavaDay with James Gosling

Author: alexismp

Google Developer Relations in Paris.

10 thoughts on “Jackpot, Java Basic, Real-world XML schemas, Open Source AS benchmark, …”

  1. Tying JackPot to NetBeans is a terrible mistake that guarantees that this technology will not even get the slightest chance to be tried by potential users.
    What were they thinking?!?

  2. Bad for JackPot. NetBeans is a distant #3 in market share, and I know it’s hard for Sun employees to admit it, but very few people use it. By tying JackPot to NetBeans, you have restricted even further the very small potential audience that JackPot had in the first place (I know I wanted to try it but when I saw it was tied to NetBeans, I just thought “too bad” and moved on).
    The comments on FindBugs and PMD in the JackPot FAQ are also a bit mean in my opinion, but even setting this aside, ponder this: how many people currently using FindBugs and PMD do you think you can convert over to JackPot?
    My guess: close to zero, because all these people are using FindBugs and PMD in their builds (probably with ant) and outside of NetBeans. You’re not going to win them over by telling them they need to start using NetBeans, first because it smells of bait and switch, and second, because it’s simply not realistic.
    Because of all these errors, I am predicting that in one year from now, JackPot will have been completely forgotten.

  3. I agree that Jackpot can be bigger than NetBeans, but you’ve gotta start somewhere.

    Now, I don’t think NetBeans should be that much of a problem for you to test-run Jackpot, all you need is an ANT-driven project. Importing projects in an IDE is sooo Y2K! ;-)

    FindBugs and PMD are great and each have their differences, one working on class files (able to find bugs in any scripting language compiling down to bytecode!), the other one working on source files. I guess Jackpot stands somewhere in between (being built on top of the compiler) and has some unique position, but it don’t expect it to “get rid” of all other static analysis tools. Jackpot is meant to be part of the NetBeans core IDE, so its value also lies in that. What’s the percentage of any IDE’s users actually using a static analysis tool?

  4. NetBeans \*is\* a problem for me, because I need to learn how to use it before I can even start playing with JackPot.
    Just put yourself in my shoes: pick an IDE you have no knowledge about (say, JDeveloper?) and imagine that you can only test drive a certain product if you install that IDE and learn its basics before you can even get started.
    I am betting you will do what I did: shrug and move on.
    A product like JackPot is screaming for being standalone. I should be able to drop a jar file in my classpath and start writing scripts working on my code base in less than ten minutes.

  5. A product like JackPot is screaming for being standalone.
    Then you’d have to learn this standalone tool too, telling it all about your app. I think you make this sound a bit harder than it really is – Install NetBeans, open your ANT-powered project, Ctrl-Shift-Q and off you go. Would a standalone version be much simpler?

  6. What refactoring tools (not including bug-checking tools) run standalone? I haven’t found very many, and those I have found don’t have a big installed base. My guess is that refactoring is a sort of machine-assisted editing function, so most developers find it fits most comfortably in their main editing tool, their IDE (otherwise those separate refactoring products would be more successful). The early SunLabs prototype of Jackpot was standalone, and developers complained about having to learn yet-another tool, and wanted it in an IDE. So now it is.

    I’m sorry if my comments regarding FindBugs and PMD came off as “mean”, as I didn’t mean them to be. I use and recommend both tools, and have the highest respect for their respective engineering teams and products.

  7. One other note: Jackpot is not trying to compete with PMD, FindBugs, and any other Java error detectors. So few developers actually use tools like this that there is lots of market room to grow without any such product ever crowding another. The few developers who care about static error detection really care (as the above discussion illustrates), but we are sadly in a small minority, IMHO.

  8. What refactoring tools? JackPot \*is\* the refactoring tool, right? If I want to go through my code base and replace all occurrences of show() with setVisible(true), why should I be forced to use NetBeans?
    You guys are vastly underestimating the time it takes to learn a new IDE or how indimidating it is. I am just warning you that most developers will simply not bother even trying JackPot for that reason.
    Let’s talk again in one year…

  9. learn a new IDE

    Three simple steps are not like learning about all the subtilities of a new IDE.

    or how indimidating it is
    you probably have a point here. It may be perceived as difficult, but it is not. Now that you know this, you should try it out! … or in one year ;-)

Comments are closed.