Animation, eye candy and real API

One of the last sessions I attended at JavaOne was “TS-8943 NetBeans Common Framework for Information Visualization”. I’ve always been interested in graph and visualization APIs ever since I wrote my first Java program which calculated MTBF and MTTR based on how a set of hardware components were (visually) assembled (in series or in parallel).

The presentation was good and started off with the fact that NetBeans and associated tools already have a lot in place, only nothing really unified and usable outside of the NetBeans IDE. So I had a little fun recording random animations in different NetBeans and Sun tools:



So, lot of things there – trees, graphs, layouts, diagrams, zooming, complex structures, animations, transparencey, drop shadow. I’m sure Romain would enjoy most of this (and rewrite the rest).

The good part of this presentation was the intent to have a unified “visualization framework” with a Swing-alike programming model. Demos shown were pretty nice.

The place to look for substantial improvements is http://graph.netbeans.org.

Author: alexismp

Google Developer Relations in Paris.

6 thoughts on “Animation, eye candy and real API”

  1. Animations look better on video with a higher framerate ;-) That said, I should really find some time (yes, because books, beers, photography and video games take all my time during holydays) to do something with that API.

  2. Yes, I feel there is a lot of good stuff in existing graph and visualization APIs, but unfortunately scattered into different NetBeans tools. I think, for a long time, that NetBeans community would have great opportunities with some extracted library, just like jgraph or Graphviz (this last library being used into a java opensource graphical DB schema generator with outputs that look nice at first sight). Geertjan
    has already blogged about supporting frameworks on top of NetBeans. Having such library will enable people to go steps further in that support. And sure, it’s also important, for community reasons, that this library should be able outside of the NetBeans IDE, with documentation. Great post!

  3. I use JGraph in my netbeans modules. Works quite well. Java Studio Creator uses it, too. The visual layout of the JSF pages is, in fact, a JGraph pane.

  4. From the Creator download page:


    All Supported Platform – Sun Java Studio Creator 2 Update 1

    Third Party Source, Multilanguage

    jgraph-2.2.2-java1.4-src.zip
    1.05 MB

  5. Note the Creator navigation demo I have at the begining here is using NetBeans Graph. It’s part of the Creator Pack (on top of NetBeans). So, I guess the jgraph dependency is going away…

Comments are closed.